Summer Reading: by J

Ha, oh goodnes, responding to K’s post feels like showing up to class and having no idea that there was a test.

Yes I love books, I swear I really do.
I did my degree in English Literature so that I could read novels, seriously, that’s how I decided.

But for some crazy reason, I have just not been reading much lately, well if you don’t count blogs as reading.

I have random reading spurts, where I devour three books in a row, love them, and then nothing. Then I start to read something, and I put it down, and I just meander through it until the end, but this goes on for weeks or months, and then I just don’t read anything for awhile.

Does that ever happen to you? Where you stop doing something that you love, that you used to do all the time, and you are not entirely sure why?

So I guess what I am saying in a round about way, is that I don’t have a whole lot to report as far as summer reading goes.

I will say that I read Cormac Mcarthy’s All the Pretty Horses, but didn’t like it nearly as much as I loved Blood Meridian.

A book that is amazing for summer reading is The History of Love, by Nicole Krauss. It is just so well-written and sweet.

My all time number one book which I love passionately, and will defend as being one of the greatest works of literature of all time, just because I love it that much is 100 Years of Solitude, by Gabriel Garcia Marquez. This is a great summer read, winter read, spring, fall, this book needs no season.

The image above is from this excessively hip antique store in the Mission (one of my fave SF neighbourhoods) called Viracocha, where for $10/month you can take away 1 book at a time. If it was a little closer to me, I would likely utilize what I would assume is their well-curated collection to boost my reading back to its old glory.

That’s all for now, please feel free to share your fave summer reading, guilty or not, in the comments,

xo J

5 thoughts on “Summer Reading: by J

  1. I’ve not been a huge fan of essay books for some reason, but I’ve been enjoying Murakami’s essays lately (“Murakami Radio I & II”). So good that I finished the books in 2 days and had Murakami withdrawal for a week.

  2. I love starting books, but i rarely finish any of them. If you look at our bookshelf, you’ll find that every book has a bookmark around the second or third chapter…

    Congrats on the Blog!

  3. Pingback: A little peter pan: by J | fogandfireflies

Leave a Reply

