Woody Allen: some thoughts by J

Does it ever happen to you where you just don’t get something and then suddenly you do? That’s how it was with Woody Allen for me.

The man, the artist. I truly can’t say I am any expert on the matter in any way.

And for the most part I’ve shyly hid my embarrassment with having not seen most of his works. The man is prolific.

In any case, it wasn’t until I saw Annie Hall that I was able to fully appreciate his work. It was one of those times where I understood why everyone always says it’s their favorite Woody Allen film, or simply their favorite film.

I fell in love with Diane Keaton. She has an allure that is so much more than just beauty.

Which leads me to my disappointment in To Rome With Love. I love Rome and I love Penelope Cruz, I figured it would be an easy sell. But, it just fell a little flat to me. Also, Jesse Eisenberg growing up to be Alec Baldwin?

However, I will say I would love to dress like Judy Davis in the film, when I am in my 50’s (or right now actually).

I’ll leave you with my favorite Woody Allen quote: “Life is full of misery, loneliness, and suffering – and it’s all over much too soon.”

xo J

One thought on “Woody Allen: some thoughts by J

  1. Pingback: Woody Allen: I only kind of get it, by K | fogandfireflies

Leave a Reply

