Embarrassing Obsessions by K

In this new world of Netflix instant watch and Apple TV I am not much of a channel surfer anymore. I honestly don’t think cable is even necessary in this new age but am having trouble cutting the chord.  Every once in awhile I’ll turn on the actual TV and flip through the 967 channels. Lately, without fail, I end up on channel 123. Investigation Discovery. For those of you well adjusted normal people out there who don’t know what that is – I will tell you all about it.

Investigation Discovery is 24 hours a day 7 days a week of reality crime shows. Shows with titles like, Who the (bleep) Did I Marry? A show about people who have been married to a serial killer or cross dresser etc… for years and years without knowing a thing about it.  Happily Never After – pretty clever title if you ask me, Deadly Women – a show about women who kill, Behind Mansion Walls – rich people who kill each other out of boredom, or any of those crazy Dateline mytsery shows…the list goes on. They literally fill 24 hours a day, 7 days a week with new material.  Who knew there were that many psychos in the world?

That is not really the point though. The point is, this is my embarrassing obsession of the moment.

At first, I thought something was wrong with me.  But here is the thing. The other night I said “K! This is ridiculous and unhealthy and stop it!” So I changed the channel.  And here is what I found on television:

Toddlers and Tiaras – completely horrifying.

Dance Mom – worse than Toddlers and Tiaras.

Here Comes Honey Boo Boo – I can’t even begin to say anything about this. And I won’t.

JWOW & Snookie – …

Ru Pauls Drag Race – exactly what it sounds like.

Judge Judy – I secretly love this show too but shhh.

Wife Swap – wife. swap.

Four Weddings – where you compete with four brides for the better wedding in order to win a honeymoon. yeah.

Law and Order marathons on like 4 different channels – SVU is awesome.  ICE T is gold.

I mean I really don’t want to continue. You get the point. Needless to say I went back to my crime shows since I believed it to be the lesser of the evils. At least we are all in agreement on the ID channel that these people are disturbed and need to be taken out of society…was that too harsh?  But this channel surfing did teach me something about our current society – We are all crazy. And we all must have these embarrassing unhealthy obsessions. Or else TV would not look like this.

So I guess I am writing this so I can feel better about my addiction…and allow you, dear reader, to feel better about yours. You’re welcome.

xoxo k

2 thoughts on “Embarrassing Obsessions by K

  1. Pingback: Embarrassing obsessions: by J | fogandfireflies

  2. Pingback: Habits: by K | fogandfireflies

Leave a Reply

