Embarrassing obsessions: by J

K’s post reminded me of why I don’t have cable. Obviously it is because I just have no interest in cable, and fill my days with cultural events and other worthwhile endeavors.

Yeah….

The sad truth is that I have no self-restraint when it comes to television. One quick show can somehow become an all day marathon of My Big Fat Gypsy Wedding. I wake up from my cable induced stupor to wonder what has become of my day/life.

I haven’t had cable since, I don’t know, 2006, maybe? Even when it was included in my rent, I just didn’t plug my tv in. And this was all going wonderfully until I moved to SF.

Where I met the temptress Hulu. For anyone who doesn’t know what Hulu is, it is basically cable, but free and on your computer.

Let’s just say I had to eventually restrict myself to one day a week, and I wont try to pretend that I didn’t watch the entire Revenge series, and probably worse things that I can’t think of right now, or just don’t want to tell you about.

I really wanted to write about a different obsession as well, and found myself becoming embarrassingly obsessed with coming up with the perfect embarrassing obsession.

Because for the most part, I have just come to terms with my many random and changing obsessions.

Happy Friday!

xo J

Leave a Reply

