Pesto tapenade: by J

I’ve been trying to eat healthier lately. Sometimes though, I just want something delicious and ridiculous. Think slabs of gooey cheese or bread with butter. Or a huge bowl of pasta.

The quick recipe below is one of my go to for healthy food that feels really indulgent. I ended up smearing it on toasted rye bread with a little more arugula, sliced tomatoes and turkey for an open faced sandwich.

It is also great with a charcuterie plate, mixed into salad dressing, as a spread for bruschetta, with mushrooms, in an omelette, let’s just say it’s versatile.

I tried to make a rough recipe, but I really just eyeball everything.

Recipe

  •  1 cup of arugula
  • 1/4 cup of your favorite olive pitted. I used Kalamata, I’m sure castelvetrano would be amazing.
  • 1 tbsp capers
  • 1 tsp grainy mustard
  • 1 clove of garlic
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 2 tbsp feta cheese
  • 1 anchovy filet (optional if you hate them leave them out, I keep a jar packed in oil in my fridge for puttanesca and salad dressing)
  • black pepper and salt to taste

Place everything in a food processor and pulse until relatively smooth( I use this, and it is the perfect small kitchen gadget). Store in the refrigerator for up to 4 days (that’s just a guess, mine rarely sits around longer than 24 hours).

This recipe would be great with basil or parsley. You could also swap pine nuts for the feta if you want it to be vegan. It is a really flexible recipe, that I made in desperation one night when I went to make olive tapenade and realized part way into making it that I only had a handful of olives, but I did have a farmer’s market bag of fresh arugula.

I also don’t always feel great about store bought pesto because of the large amounts of oil, and making it at home can be expensive depending on the cost of your basil and the high price of pine nuts.

So enjoy, it is really delicious and super easy.

xo J

Leave a Reply

