Tis the Season: by K

Wedding season is upon us. Whether we like it or not. I’ve been to two destination weddings in the past two weekends, both in upstate New York. One at the historic Landmark Theatre in Syracuse and the other in the heart of the Adirondack Mountains, a little town called Saranac Lake where fall is in full swing.

Both grooms are very special friends of mine and represent two very important phases of my life. The Syracuse wedding was the wedding of my childhood friend/senior prom date and was a fun, emotional weekend of reminiscing and re connecting with old friends. It was a really warm, beautiful feeling to watch someone I’ve shared a childhood with, embark on adulthood with his one and only.

I want to tell you a little about The Landmark Theatre in Syracuse because this place blew me away.  It was built in 1928 and has been kept alive and running by the people of Syracuse. As soon as you walk in you feel like you’ve gone back in time to the days of flapper dresses and bowler hats. A time when people actually dressed to the nines just to go to the theatre on a Saturday night. This theatre survived the great depression and is full of rich history. It’s a special place and even more appropriate for my friend and his bride because of their deep love of film.

The ceremony was on the stage in the main auditorium in one of the most breathtaking rooms I have ever seen.  I had a sneak peek of the location months ago when the groom asked me to illustrate their Save the Dates and Wedding Invitation and as you can imagine I was completely inspired by this location. It certainly made for a fabulous night.

The second wedding in Saranac Lake NY was the wedding of my good friend from college. He grew up in the Adirondacks and met his bride 6 months prior to their engagement.  When I told him he was crazy he just looked at me and said, “when you know, you know…” And it was not until I saw them this weekend that I understood exactly what he meant.  They got married on a rainy rainy day but I don’t think either of them even noticed. Actually, I think the rain made it an even more magical night. The wedding was in a tent surrounded by red, yellow and orange trees and inside you entered a world where  The Great Gatsby meets Alice in Wonderland.  A chic, sophisticated, vintage and playful world the bride and groom designed and executed themselves. The sound of rain drops on the tent made it that much more cozy and intimate – I’d go so far as to say I would welcome a rainy wedding after being a part of theirs.

I experienced a lot of love these past two weekends.  Both weddings made me stop and think about what all this growing up and getting older craziness is really about and how important family is.

Can’t wait to see what miss J has in store for us in only a few weeks! Mostly… I just can’t wait to see her!!

xoxo k

One thought on “Tis the Season: by K

  1. Pingback: DIY wedding vows: by K | fogandfireflies

Leave a Reply

