The sushi chef: by J

image from fujiseiki

I find the man who makes sushi at our favorite spot so interesting. I am always fascinated by people that seem to be doing exactly what they were meant to do. Likely because I feel so far from that myself. Of course I may just be wishfully projecting this idea onto him, but let’s just pretend I’m not.

He has a soft face, that hovers halfway between amused and indifferent.

He makes sushi steadily, he never seems rushed, or bothered in any way by the not uncommon hour long waits.

One night, we had a late dinner there, and I watched him head to the fridge and quietly get a beer, he retook his place behind the sushi bar and politely turned his back to his customers before surreptitiously taking a drink and placing the bottle gently in the metal industrial sink.

He wears faded t-shirts and the look of someone who knows he is good at what he does.

The menu is what you would expect from the late 90’s, old favorites, done simply. But he remembers what most places these days don’t, that the freshness of the fish is more important than anything else. There is no flash, the decor is devoid of elegance, and the restaurant only accepts cash.

I only hope that one day I will seem so quietly a part of what I do.

xo J

ps an amazing movie about so much more than just sushi.

Leave a Reply

