My career?: by J

When I moved to San Francisco I knew I wouldn’t be able to work due to visa restrictions. At the time, I didn’t realize how much what you do often feels like who you are.

I respect women who choose to stay at home, for kids or for other reasons, however, I was raised in a family where my mom worked full-time, and I assumed that I always would as well.

We moved here a year and a half ago, for the hubs work, and I have never regretted my decision to leave my old job. I was ready for a change and excited about living in a new city, especially one I was already in love with.

It took me a good 6 months to let go of most of the embarrassment I felt anytime someone asked me what I did, and I quickly explained nothing. Combine that with the struggle of not even having a specific career I wanted to pursue, and I put a lot of pressure on myself to “figure my life out”.

And sometimes I am scared because I worry I will lose all of my job skills (and that is on a day where I am kind enough to myself to actually think I have some).

Recently I have found some clarity about what work I want to pursue, but that will require grad school, which is prohibitively expensive as a foreign student, which I will be until our visa status changes. And I need to get into grad school, which feels like a mountain in and of itself.

The good news is the hubs is starting a new job here in a few weeks, so we’re staying, for at least one more year and maybe longer. So yes my lately and transitions post were completely premature and unnecessary.

Advice to self: live your life fully even when you think your situation is only temporary.

 

 

The image above is a David Shrigley print we have in our kitchen….it’s a good reminder not to take things too seriously (image from here).

ps. a whole post about how hard it is not to work……I know right, what a whiner!

Leave a Reply

