Feeling blue and happy about it : by K

So I did it. I painted my nails blue. Midnight Cami if you want to get specific.

This might not seem like a big deal to most of you ladies out there who are being bombarded with every shade of blue nail polish there is, every where you look, on every model in every fall catalog.  Make no mistake,  I am fully aware blue nails are in right now –  I am certainly no trend setter.

However. I’m not sure what this says about me, but I have wanted to do this for exactly 15 years. Since 1997 when, in Season 4 of Friends, Monica catered her mother’s party, broke a fake blue nail and lost it in a quiche.  Before she broke it in the quiche her mother criticized her new blue nail polish, to which Monica replied, “I thought it looked cute.”

Since I have essentially the same coloring as Courtney Cox I took notice of the color and have thought about doing it, literally ever since. I haven’t tried it until now because I am a big chicken when it comes to nail polish color. I pick up the fun colors when I am in a nail salon, fantasize about it and without fail end up choosing a neutral color.  I just can’t rationalize paying someone to  put a color on my nails that might not match everything I own. Of course there is the exception of the holiday season where I will allow myself the luxury of trying a variety of deep reds.

This is my own issue I realize, but I can’t explain how excited I was when I started seeing blue nail polish everywhere – and being advertised as a neutral for the fall?! Music to my ears. Up until now I couldn’t allow myself to participate in a style that seemed to only present itself on gothic teenage girls and boys and women during the 90’s – I’ve been told the 90’s are not allowed to come back into style. Ever. (even though I secretly love every outfit Monica and Rachel wore that entire decade…cropped shirts, overalls, high waisted wide leg pants and all).

When trends like this appear at the start of a season it takes me a bit to realize I’ve been brainwashed.  I start the season thinking it was my bright idea to wear the new green headband I spontaneously notice in a store window one day. My independent brain thinks, “look at you, so fashion forward…taking risks…”  Then one day I’ll be innocently sitting at cafe, or walking down the street and something strange happens. Not one female head that passes is without my new, inspired, unique green headband.  All at once I am overcome with shame and disappointment as I realize I am not, in fact, fashion forward. Instead, my independent brain had been taken over by subliminal messages for weeks, months…who knows how long really! It’s anyone’s guess.

I’d like to think I was ahead of the curve on this one…not brainwashed at all. No, I didn’t have the guts to actually do it – but I thought about it. for 15 years! That’s gotta mean something.

xoxo k

ps some have asked where I got my fabulous ring…the urban smith.  It’s inscribed with the word fearless. I bought it on an impulse and it is now my new favorite accessory.

8 thoughts on “Feeling blue and happy about it : by K

  1. Pingback: All that glitters is gold?: by J | fogandfireflies

Leave a Reply

