Mint iced coffee: by J

Philz coffee is an SF institution in a coffee centric city. It’s not my go to, I prefer Ritual or Blue Bottle, but it’s great for a casual coffee, and a taste of SF culture. They have a drink that I’ve never had anywhere else called the mint-mojito. It’s creamy, herbaceous and refreshing.

Luckily you can customize the sweetness because this one is really sweet. I ordered mine not very sweet, and it was still pretty sweet by my standards.

The closest Philz is pretty far from me, so of course I had to try to make it at home. My recipe is for one, but could be multiplied easily.

Ingredients:

  • 2 shots of espresso or 1/2 a cup of really strong coffee
  • a handful of fresh mint
  • ice cubes
  • 2 tbsps of milk (I used almond) or 1 tbsp milk and 1 tbsp cream
  • optional sweetener to taste, mix the sugar in with the hot coffee or agave syrup or liquid sugar is ideal if you add it in the end.

Brew your coffee, no need to let it cool as you’ll make it really strong so the melting ice cubes should make it the right strength. Add sugar to the hot coffee and stir if you plan to use granulated sugar.

Pour the coffee into a mason jar or whatever you will use to shake it, top it with ice cubes and milk or cream.
Clap the mint between your hands, and add it to the jar, screw on the lid and shake.

Taste and sweeten to your liking with simple syrup or agave syrup if you didn’t already add sugar. I drank my sweetener free.

Pour into your favorite glass and enjoy.

Feel free to use cold brewed coffee, or your favorite iced coffee recipe, the important part is the fresh mint.

xo J

One thought on “Mint iced coffee: by J

  1. Pingback: Cafe Dante : by K | fogandfireflies

Leave a Reply

