calm before the storm: by K

By the time you read this I will be sitting on the couch with my hair in a dirty pony tail next to a pile of books staring at my dark, lifeless TV.

This weekend was about appreciating every moment of electricity I had since there is a 113% chance Hurricane Sandy will wipe out my power for the next 3 – 10 days. Yes that’s right. 3 – 10 days.

Being a New Yorker, we really are not prepared mentally for any sort of serious act of Mother Nature.  We’ve had our share of “bad weather” but in my 29 years on this planet  I can’t remember ever being actually nervous to leave my house.  Our first reaction is excitement at the prospect of not being able to get to work on Monday. Joke seems to be on us this time around. Hurricane Sandy is on track to bring us all back to reality in a serious way.  NYC has shut down for at least Monday. All subways, commuter rails and buses are scheduled to stop working at 7pm Sunday evening until further notice. Hundreds of thousands of people are being evacuated from their homes. This is definitely a big deal.

In addition to staying dry and safe indoors, I plan on spending the day(s) with my book(s) and lots of hot tea.  This could also be a good time to take my paints out.  I’ll let you know what excuses I come up with for not doing that. I’m sure they’ll be good.

All our East Coast readers – stay safe tomorrow! How will you be spending your hurricane day?

xo k

One thought on “calm before the storm: by K

  1. I’m “stranded” in SoCal but I was just wondering what “projects” I would have been doing without power. It could be a nice creative time, but I’ve weathered a couple of hurricanes before and by day 2 I was crawling the walls and resorted to drinking.

Leave a Reply

