Girl crush: by J

*image of Zadie Smith from here

I’m as susceptible as any to a girl crush.

It usually begins with noticing something, something daring, unique, an undeniable talent. It’s mostly awe and just a touch of envy.

My latest girl crush is one from my college days that just resurfaced.

As a surprise a few days before our honeymoon, the hubs bought me Zadie Smith’s latest novel NW, because he knew I loved her first novel, White Teeth, and wanted something to read while in Big Sur.

NW is the perfect mix of contemporary life with an intriguing storyline, with characters that feel intimately familiar.

My girl crushes usually stem from a part of myself I wish was more developed. In this case, her literary gifts and quiet beauty.

xo J

Leave a Reply

