a book on loss and moving on: by K

I love J’s post on how picture books are not always just for kids.

I actually gave the Jon Klassen book she references – I Want My Hat Back – to my sister’s boyfriend for his birthday. Mostly because the sneaky rabbit who steals the hat and lies about it reminds me of my sister – but also because reading that book for the first time made me genuinely smile from ear to ear and I wanted to share that.

My favorite children’s book though would have to be The Heart and the Bottle by Oliver Jeffers.  The quirky, beautiful illustrations are what drew me to this book in the first place. But the story is what has stayed with me and what has really captured my heart – no pun intended.

Oliver Jeffers tells us about love and loss better then anyone and even more impressive is that he does so primarily through his illustrations.  He tackles the most important aspect of our lives – the thing we all fear the most – and in a most beautiful, caring and gentle way reminds us how it is always better to have loved and lost than never to have loved at all.

It’s the story of a little girl who shares a close bond with her grandfather. They go everywhere and see and do everything together. One day he is just not there anymore.  She waits for him but when he fails to come back, she puts her heart in a glass jar to protect herself from the pain she feels.

This picture book is certainly great for kids, but I think it is even better and more suited for adults.

And lastly, but on a completely different emotional note – this post would not be complete without mentioning Mo Willems and his hilarious classic Don’t Let the Pigeon Drive the Bus! Or any of his stories for that matter.

There’s no reason why if we don’t have children in our every day lives we can’t enjoy these beautiful stories.  The holidays are fast approaching and these could make some great creative gifts that no one would expect, but everyone would appreciate.

xox k

Leave a Reply

