Thanksgiving: by K

And so it begins. Two days of prepping, cooking, cleaning, eating and drinking. Mostly I do the eating and the drinking, but even so – it is exhausting work.

I very much admire J for tackling the turkey on her own.  It is quite an undertaking but being the fantastic chef that she is, I can only imagine how delicious it will be.

Just a few things I am looking forward to: Mom’s escarole soup, artichokes, stuffed mushrooms, brussel sprouts, mashed potatoes and sausage polenta. And the cheese spread with crostini that kicks everything off.  And the seemingly never ending flow of red wine and prosecco and Dad’s delicious macchiato to help digest the insanity that was consumed hours prior. I am not a huge Turkey fan but I’ll have a bite or two of dark meat for the sake of tradition.

My favorite part of the day has to be the leftovers. And I am not talking about having some sausage polenta for lunch in the days that follow. I’m talking about sneaking back into the kitchen after everything is clean and put away and diving back in.  Then heading to the couch with my heaping plate, another glass of wine and my favorite holiday movie to kick the season off right, Home for the Holidays.

My sister, cousins and I have started this tradition and even though we are all pushing 30, I don’t see it coming to an end anytime soon. Granted we don’t really have to “sneak” anymore but where’s the fun in that?

J, take lots of pictures tomorrow. Can’t wait to see what you create.

xox k

Leave a Reply

