gift giving: by J

K’s Secret Santa post reminded me all of my shopping has to be done early this year as the hubs and I leave for the Philippines to visit family December 15th.

So, I spent yesterday roaming the shopping epicentre of San Francisco in search of Christmas gifts. I’m not a particularly big fan of Union Square and its sly mistress the Westfield Mall, but sometimes I need that kind of shopping density.

I am always truly amazed how utterly exhausting the whole experience is. By the end of it, I was soundly slumped on an over stuffed leather sofa in Anthropologie gazing blankly at piles of glittering objects.

But it all feels worth it when I get someone a gift they love. Or even if it just reminds them I am thinking of them and they are significant in my life.

Gift giving is an important part of relationships. It requires me to take time to really think about the person I am getting a gift for, what they are interested in, their passions and preferences.

Although, it is always easier to regain that perspective once I’m back at home, cozy and quiet.

Happy Friday,

xo J

Above is everything necessary for perfect gift wrapping.

craft paper tags $4/ craft paper $10/ black and gold twine $14 from knotandbow
Cody Foster tiny tree ornaments $17.50 from Madewell
red and white striped washi tape $3.49 from HopscotchCraftSupply

Leave a Reply

