cold and flu season: by J

I’m going to assume that I’m not the only one that is sick, or is getting sick, was just sick, or is surrounded by sick people.

Due to some combination of jet lag, the 12 hour plane ride, and the extreme shift in temperatures, I got sick. I’m just at the end of it. The point where I feel tired and my skin looks horrible, but I’m more or less okay to go about my usual routine.

I thought it a useful time to share two of my favorite, less common, more natural helpers that often stop, or at least reduce and shorten a cold and flu.

Hedd Wyn’s Oil of Oregano is expensive, and tastes horrible, it isn’t even palatable by many, but for me it’s a life saver. It’s both a natural antiseptic (it works wonders on canker sores in your mouth) and an anti-inflammatory. You only need a few drops under the tongue, so a tiny bottle lasts a long time. This is one product where you do get what you pay for. I’ve purchased less expensive versions in the past and really noticed a big difference in their effectiveness and potency.

The second, which is much cheaper, and more readily available is ginger. I take a good 1 to 2 inch size piece, peel it, grate it, boil it and then drink it. You can use anywhere from roughly 1 to 2 cups of water. I like to make it super strong, so I use less water, but make it to your liking. Also you can add lemon and honey if ginger isn’t your thing.

I will admit though I’m the type that feels like something isn’t really therapeutic unless it’s a little painful, so these might not be for everyone.

Stay warm, cozy and healthy,

Happy Friday,

xo J

* ginger image

One thought on “cold and flu season: by J

  1. Pingback: cold remedy: by J | fogandfireflies

Leave a Reply

