green smoothie: by J

IMG_2405Sometimes I just need a serious hit of green.

Mornings where I feel sluggish, or when I haven’t been eating the best, I’ll blend up a green smoothie.

My favorite recipe is the juice of 1/2 a lemon, a handful each of baby spinach, kale, parsley, a few inches of cucumber and a pear. But any mix of your favorite soft greens should work. I have also used bok choy.

I wash and chop all of the ingredients and place them in a tall container and top it with filtered water. I just use a handheld immersion blender, but a blender would work as well.

If you want it sweeter, I know many people that use coconut water, or more fruit. I like mine really green, and find the pear sweet enough.

You can store extra in a mason jar filled to the top for use the next day.

Happy Friday,

xo J

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

