new potatoes: by J

newpotatoes

I was really happy to have my little sister join me volunteering in the garden last friday. We spent a good chunk of the day digging potatoes with the kids.

I have yet to lose that sense of wonder of food coming from the ground. Potatoes being especially funny as it feels somewhat like Easter Egg hunting. You root around in the dirt and pull out these perfectly formed new potatoes after planting them about 2 months before.

You know potatoes are ready for harvesting when the green plant they shoot up is wilting.

I’ll post a recipe for what I did with the potatoes on Thursday.

xo J

Leave a Reply

